Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • ACT: ALL   NSW: North Coast (Mid North Coast), South Coast, Sydney (Blue Mountains, Eastern Suburbs, Inner West, Northern Beaches, Sutherland, Sydney City)   NT: Northern Territory (Darwin, Top End)   QLD: Central Coast (Mackay & Whitsundays), Northern (Cairns, Far North), South Eastern (Gold Coast & Hinterland, Sunshine Coast)   TAS: Tasmania (Hobart, Launceston)   VIC: Melbourne  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2024: 20Apr-27Apr

Emery

ABOUT ME
Hi, my name is Emery (they/them) - thanks for checking out my profile! I'm a genuine animal lover and experienced and professional pet sitter, based in the Inner West of Sydney. For 7+ years I’ve cared for cats and dogs in Sydney, Melbourne, and overseas in Amsterdam.

I'm comfortable looking after cats, dogs, and other small, furry creatures. I have a particular soft spot for cats.
I've cared for pets with more complex needs, including those who've needed medication and pets from traumatised backgrounds.
I genuinely care for the welfare of animals and was elected President of Sydney University's Animal Welfare Society 2017-2018- your baby/ies will be safe, cared for and loved while you're away.

While I predominantly house sit as an individual, I usually like for my partner to be able to join me for some of the time if the sit is in Sydney; or, we might travel together.
I look for house sits to enjoy a change of scenery from home where I've otherwise spent a long time in lockdowns, WFH, etc over the last few years, and to spend time with animals when I don't yet have pets myself. I am a non-smoker.

HOUSE CARE
As a guest in your space I value good communication, and will treat your home as if it is my own- that is, with respect.
You can expect me to be organised, reliable, and timely in my communication and actions. I leave homes clean and tidy when leaving (as I'd anticipate them to be when I first arrive).
If/when staying with me, you can expect my partner (who also loves animals) to be equally respectful of the space.
I'm happy to send photos of your pets while you're away, if you'd like- I love taking photos.

What I need from pet/home owners:
-Information on pet care needs, routines, etc
-Information to comfortably live in the household (eg how to work any not-straightforward appliances, where the cleaning supplies are, etc)
-Information or photos about the house/apartment itself: where will I be living for days-weeks?
-Effective communication

I’ve found a video call as soon as practicable works well to have a chance to initially meet and discuss key details; to then set up any organisational next-steps required.
Having a document explaining key house & pet care details is always really helpful.

PET CARE
I provide the best care when there are only a few pets at most - I know the limits of my own energy. Very energetic dogs e.g. needing 2 or more walks a day, I couldn’t commit to. Pets with very early wake-up times aren't a preference- however it's in no way a dealbreaker if it doesn't clash with my sleep schedule too much.

For the safety and well-being of the pets, myself and others, I don’t accept sits with pets with behaviour concerns that haven’t yet been resolved through effective training, e.g. uncontrolled barking, aggression to others. Being a new/unfamiliar human to them, this is even more challenging for me to attempt to manage.

SERVICE TYPES
I also petsit professionally outside of this website. To clarify the difference in the types of sits I do:
•Aussie House Sitters: A sit will be attractive to me- it actively aligns with somewhere I want to go; at a time I’m looking for; with a duration that suits me. I’m more likely to enquire with an existing sit ad. Both parties are actively seeking the pet sitting experience.
•Professional: I am not planning to travel or be away from home. Someone will ask me if I am available to look after their pets at a proposed time. If the sit is possible- I need to make considerable adjustments to my life to facilitate it. For this requested service, I am compensated.
If you are interested in my professional pet sitting services in the greater Sydney region, you can get in touch.

AVAILABILITY
I'm open to local sits (in Sydney) or ones further away/interstate if I am planning to travel.
On that note- let me know if you are looking for a sitter in Melbourne in the first 2 weeks of October this year - I’m actively looking for a sit in that time.

Feasible sits for me at the moment are weekends up to approximately 1-2 weeks.

REFERENCES
In addition to the reviews below, I have a reference available from a couple I have been catsitting for for many years- just ask if interested.
I am LGBTIAQ+ friendly and have a recent Police Check and current WCC.

Thank you for reading through all this! Feel free to ask any questions you may have, and I look forward to hearing back from you :)

Reviews (4)
We couldn't give anything less than a 5-star rating to Emery, who looked after our beloved cat Boris. Kind, courteous and reliable - Emery even texted photos and progress reports while we were away. They also did a great job looking after our house. We couldn't have asked for anything more -and the whole process was seemless. We highly recommend Emer, especially if you have a grumpy old spoiled cat! Thanks again Emery - you're a gem.
 
LINDA (Bundeena NSW, Sep 2022 - 4 weeks)
Emery had great communication and made the sitting process very easy
 
LAURA (Manly Vale NSW, Mar 2024 - 3 nights)
Emery was very communicative before and during their stay at our house and read our house and cat notes thoroughly before arrival. We received reassuring updates while we were away, and came home to a sparkling clean house and very happy cat. Our cat takes daily medication and has some stress related issues which Emery did not bat an eyelid at. I can't recommend Emery enough as a wonderful pet and house sitter!
 
FLEUR (Brunswick VIC, Apr 2023 - 2 weeks)
Thank you Emery for taking such great care of our cat and for the photos while we were away. Also for washing the bed linen which was not at all expected. Thank you
 
LAUREN (Drummoyne NSW, Jun 2020 - 2 days)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge