Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese
Preferred Locations
  • NSW: Central Coast, Sydney (Eastern Suburbs, Lower North Shore, Northern Beaches, Northern Suburbs, Sydney City, Upper North Shore)   VIC: Melbourne  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2024: 12Apr-15Apr | 1May-29May

Mature/ Experienced

63, Retired academic

Hello.

Easy-going, nature-loving, self-contained homebody here. I currently spend my time between Sydney and Melbourne and love to housesit when a location is irresistible or I need to be in a certain area at a certain time.

I love the company of both cats and dogs but particularly enjoy the routine of walking dogs. I'll be home most of the time as I'm currently computer-bound working on an environmental arts project.

At a very minimum I will maintain your pet's regular routine, bestow great care and affection upon your pet, respect and care for your property as if it was my own and communicate regularly with you.

I'm fit and healthy, love to walk and swim and do yoga regularly.

I'm quiet, super tidy, friendly and very organised. Your house and pet are my main priority when I stay.

I don't smoke and can provide referees not listed here as I also house sit through my word-of-mouth network.

My professional background is in tertiary education, design and the environment.

My preference is for a quiet location, a comfortable bed, a good kitchen (love to cook) and one animal to care for, though happy to consider a couple of animals, which I've done many times.

I'm usually not comfortable with animals sleeping on my bed as I'm a light sleeper but in the same room is perfectly fine.

Over the years I have house sat multi-million dollar homes, small urban apartments, sprawling farms and suburban homes; and once doubled-up as an Air BnB hostess in New Zealand.

Please get in touch if you'd like more information.

RETURN SITS:
Culburra Beach - Christine & Murray Mar '23
Culburra Beach - Christine & Murray Aug '23
Crows Nest - Diane May '24

Thank you. :)
Carmel

Reviews (12)
Carmel was an excellent house and cat sitter. Very easy to communicate with, responsive and helpful. I was confident at every stage that both our home and cats were in good hands. The house was left spotless and cats very content. I’d highly recommend Carmel
 
KATIE (Maroubra NSW, Jan 2024 - 1 week 3 nights)
We feel so fortunate to have found Carmel for our month long house sit over December. She gave Bailey all the love and care we could have hoped for and put our minds at ease over New Years Eve during the fireworks by staying home with Bailey. Excellent, regular communication during her stay and left our home in immaculate condition. It would be a pleasure to have Carmel stay again. Thank you!
 
DIANA (Crows Nest NSW, Dec 2023 - 4 weeks)
Carmel looked after our house for 5 weeks whilst we were overseas. We could not have had a more reliable, honest and caring house sitter. She looked after our 3 year old crazy puppy, who bonded amazingly with Carmel. Carmel kept us up to date the whole time we were away and the house was in an immaculate condition on our return. I couldn’t recommend her more highly 10/10. Thank you Carmel
 
ANNE (Whale Beach NSW, Aug 2023 - 1 month 1 week)
Carmel was a great house sitter. She took such good care of my dog, walking her twice everyday, dealing with a health emergency and getting her to her optimum weight. And Maggie thought Carmel was pretty good ... I'm having to live up to her reputation! She was an excellent communicator and I received regular emails, photos and videos with information about the house, chooks, Maggie and general chitchat about home. Carmel completed any task that I had left for her to do and was absolutely ... MORE
 
ANTHEA (Mansfield VIC, May 2023 - 3 months)
It was an absolute pleasure to have Carmel house sit our home for 6 weeks. Carmel is a very warm, kind, friendly and helpful person who took care of our home and our fur babies beautifully. Carmel kept in regular contact and didn't hesitate to get in contact if needed. We received regular updates from Carmel, including some amazing video updates of our babies. We were also treated to a delicious pie by Carmel on our arrival (knowing we had driven a long distance) and some lovely sweet treats! ... MORE
 
LAKSHMI AND SHANE (Ainslie ACT, Oct 2022 - 1 month 2 weeks)
Carmel was absolutely amazing . Such a caring lovely lady who genuinely enjoyed Banjo's company and our much loved home was immaculate on our return. Communication was fantastic and we received regular photos and videos on whatsapp. We have no hesitation in recommending Carmel .
 
CHRISTINE (Culburra Beach NSW, Aug 2022 - 1 month 1 week)
I was a bit cautious as this was my first experience using a housesitter. Can't recommend Carmel enough. I had to extend my trip which Carmel accommodated no problem. My house was clean, plants survived and Bella was well and happy.
 
KAREN (Vincentia NSW, Dec 2021 - 2 months)
We found Carmel a great person to deal with. Very flexible with our plans - she actually stayed longer than our initial arrangement. She fitted in to our little community well, our house was spotless when we returned, our garden well maintained and our chickens and budgie miss her talks. We would certainly have her back for a return sit if she was available.
 
GAYLE (Boonah QLD, Jun 2021 - 1 month 3 weeks)
To start, I have written a 2600 character review for Carmel- but this space won't allow it! Write me if you'd like the whole thing!! I recommend Carmel to the highest degree to look after the most important things in your life (Jenny, my dog, agrees)! Carmel has great communication and her strong, independent energy won me over. Carmel has a really beautiful nature with solid virtues and a positive outlook on life. She took care of my home, my closest friends, Jenny and her ... MORE
 
CANDICE RHEA & JENNY (Tenterfield NSW, Feb 2021 - 4 months)
Carmel was an excellent house sitter who not only looked after my home and garden very well, but prepared a meal for me on my return home. Carmel communicated well and was flexible when my departure was delayed and later when I wanted to extend my time away. She responded promptly to any messages I sent. I arrived home to a clean house and thriving garden.
 
CHERYL (Lismore Heights NSW, Sep 2020 - 3 months)
Carmel was the perfect housesitter. Communication was fantastic and she was always considerate of our needs and easy to get along with. Carmel took great care of our veggie garden and animals, and communicated quickly when there was an issue with our guinea pigs. When we arrived home, the house was in perfect condition and there was a freshly baked cake in the kitchen, which was an extraordinary and generous surprise. I highly recommend Carmel and am so glad she was able to house sit for us.
 
REBECCA (Frankston South VIC, Dec 2019 - 1 month 1 week)
Carmel was an absolutely stellar sitter for our house and - even more importantly - our dogs! She would send us updates and photos - and even little edited video compilations of their home-holiday with Aunty Carmel! We always felt confident and comfortable with Carmel in charge; she is super-friendly, respectful, clean and responsible. I would recommend her 100%.
 
LYALL (Hepburn Springs VIC, Jul 2019 - 2 months 1 week)
 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, house and garden - you can really relax. Happy days.

Feefo badge