Aussie House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in Australia
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • ACT: ALL   External Territories: ALL   NSW: ALL   NT: ALL   QLD: ALL   SA: ALL   TAS: ALL   VIC: ALL   WA: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2024: 9May-21May | 31May-30Jun | 30Jun-9Jul | 3Jul-8Jul | 11Jul-25Jul | 29Jul-8Aug | 15Aug-26Aug | 4Sep-11Sep | 12Sep-19Sep | 20Sep-21Oct | 23Oct-8Nov | 13Nov-27Dec | 2025: 1Jan-7Jan 2024: 31Jan-8May

Reliable, Easy Going, Animal Lovers

60's, Retired

50's, Semi-Retired

We are a married couple in our 50's & 60's currently living in Brisbane, and we are both retired from our full-time careers with the Queensland Police Service (of 37 years) and the Queensland Government (of 25 years). Mary-Ellen does casual work from home for a Professional Organising company, and we run our own business which allows us to work remotely - giving the attention to your home and pets that they deserve.

We previously owned a holiday apartment at Bribie Island which we letted through Stayz and AirBnB from 2011 to 2021, so are very experienced in housekeeping and general maintenance and will look after your home as if it is our own. We can provide you with a copy of our reviews if you would like to see them.

We are very experienced with animals, most being animal rescues and fosters. We currently have 2 small house dogs Brutus and Bella (King Charles Cavalier, Pekinese) and we look after our son-in-laws Border Collie Ziggy as well. We have 2 cats Simon (Russian Blue) and Suki (Ragdoll cross), a Macaw, Rio, and several Goldfish! We have previous experience owning Great Danes, Rottweilers, Dobermans, Cattledogs, and also with our families dogs - German Shepherds, Kelpies, Border Collies and Staffies, as well as small indoor dogs like poodles, cavaliers, mini foxies etc. We have owned other cats - ragdolls and some rescues, and we have had many birds, both wild and hand raised (cockatoos, king parrots, ringnecks, alexandrines, rainbow lorikeets, finches and quails) as well as owning chickens, guinea pigs, turtles, snakes, pet mice and rats and hermit crabs. As you can see, we've never met an animal we don't like Vernon has also done some work with the RSPCA as an animal rescuer.

We have adult children and grandkids and we are preparing for our next journey in life - doing some travelling, so while we have our adult children at home to look after our pets, we would love to house and pet sit for you!

We are both non smokers. We have owned our own homes for over 40 years and have experience maintaining pools and yards as well as the housework. We are very security conscious, given our backgrounds, so you can travel in peace knowing that your home is in safe hands.

Reviews (5)
Vern and Mary Ellen have looked after our house before, and although the sittings are generally only a week or so, they have always been able to accommodate us at reasonable short notice. The home and grounds are always left in a very clean state allowing us to relax completely whilst away
 
GRAHAM (24 David Street Thorneside QLD, Mar 2024 - 6 nights)
Vern and Mary- ellen have now house sit for us and cared for our fur babies twice , we highly recommend them. The house is always spotless and the animals are extremely happy and very well cared for. Thanks again guys.
 
AMY (Banksia Beach QLD, Jan 2024 - 4 nights - 1 of 2 endorsements from this owner )
Thanks so much for house sitting for us. Max and shadow were happy when we got home after being very cared for while we were away. The house was super clean and communication was great. Thanks heaps.
 
AMY (Banksia Beach QLD, Dec 2023 - 3 nights - 2 of 2 endorsements from this owner )
Vernon & Mary-Ellen are amazing housesitters & have our highest recommendation. We were so lucky that our home was in their care. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The house was left absolutely spotless, the outdoor BBQ area & BBQ were spotless & even the old tennis court was blown free of leaves. The wildlife was cared for and the plants all watered. They are the perfect sitters- trustworthy, extremely capable & friendly. We are looking forward to having them house sit again for us in the ... MORE
 
BARBARA (Burbank QLD, Oct 2023 - 1 week 3 nights)
Vernon and Mary-Ellen, are by far the best house sitters we've ever had. They've looked after our property and animals as if it was their own, they even left the property in better state then it was when we left it. If you are looking for house sitters who genuinely care about your property and animals, you won't find any better then these 2. I sincerely hope they will/can house sit our property again in the future.
 
JEANETTE (Wells Crossing NSW, Mar 2023 - 6 days)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge